Quinoa Porridge

P1030484

Winter is here.
Few days ago, when I woke up, all the landscape was white, due to the snow fallen during the night. I was so excited. It reminded me that, in less than one month, I come back home, to see all my family, during three weeks.
I miss France so much, but Québec is a very beautiful city, and people here are too kind. Since a short time, I start to feel half French, half Canadian, or I should say ”Québécoise”. I love life here, even if my heart stay in my little town, in the forest, near both the sea and mountains.

Most of the time, it was approximately 5°F, so cold ! But, one thing I love during the winter, is smell the cold,and feeling the wind in your hair. With a very good coat and shoes, enjoying winter is possible. Moreover, Christmas is coming, and its spirit become to be very present in the street and shops, event in people mood : happiness is all around us !

In front of these chilly days, I dropped my cold cereals for a rather special oatmeal. I’ve seen it a lot of times, on pinterest or on different blogs, but I’ve never dare to try it. Now it’s done and I’m asking myself why I didn’t do it before !

This morning I’ve tried it with some leftover of coconut milk : it was so much creamier than just with almond milk, so good and comforting !

P1030486

Quinoa porridge

1/3 cup of quinoa, rinsed
1/3 cup of coconut milk or any nut milk (almond is my favourite)
1/2 cup of water
Berries or apple or banana (you choice)
Some toppings (almonds, sugar…)

Heat a saucepan on medium heat. When hot, add quinoa and toasted until all water is evaporated.
Add the milk, bring to a boil and stir constantly. When there is no milk anymore, add the water, bring to a boil again, still stirring constantly.
When your quinoa is fluffy, stop heating. Cover and wait three minutes. Then, stir with a fork to make it fluffier.
Put into a bowl, add your fruits and topping, and now, you can eat!

P1030493

Leave a Reply

