Lentil Stew with Bok choy, Beetroots, Mushrooms and Roasted Pumpkin

P1030505

 

This session, on Mondays, I have a class from 6.30 pm to 9.30 pm. When it has begun, night was not entirely here when class was over. But now, when I go back to my room, it’s completely dark, and the cold is also present. I can use tunnels, but I don’t feel comfortable in these, they are too small and dark. So I go outside, trying to do my best to cross the campus as fast as I can and reach my room, where, then, I finally have dinner.
This class is Philosophy, and you can not imagine how I feel hungry after that. Maybe it is a coincidence or maybe philosophy gives me appetite.
Anyway, these nights I need something large enough to satisfy myself and hot enough to warm me up.

Lentil Stew with Bok choy, Beetroots, Mushrooms and Roasted Pumpkin

Adapted from Appetite for China

½ cup dry lentils
2 2/3 cup of vegetable broth
½ can of organic mushrooms
2 little beets, cut into chunk
1 little Bok choy sliced
1/6 pumpkin
¼ onion diced
Olive oil
Salt and pepper, to taste

Preheat oven to 380°F. Cut pumpkin into 3 large slices then coat with olive oil and salt/pepper. When the oven is ready, put pumpkin into it and let cook for 30 minutes, approximately.
Meanwhile, bring broth to a boil. Wash lentils and add them to the hot broth. After 15 minutes, add the beet (don’t be afraid, water is becoming very purple).
Heat one tablespoon of olive oil in a pan. Add the bok choy, onion and mushroom. Cook until bok choy become tender.
When lentils are cooked but still tender (took 40 minutes for me), add the vegetables.
Put this soup in a bowl and add the roasted pumkin. Coat with some nutritional yeast and almond cream. Savor!

I really like this deep purple, so beautiful! You can flavor your pumpkin with honey or maple syrup. And, to finish, if you want a soup instead of a stew, just add more vegetable broth.

P1030510

Leave a Reply

