Mujadara

P1030523

 

Since I’m a vegetarian (not very a long time, that’s true) I cook a lot, more than before, and I also have a lot more fun to do it.

Organic products and healthy food have been included in my pantry, and that makes me really enthusiastic when I have to choose what I’ll do for lunch or dinner. Inspiration comes much more easily than before ! Especially with lentils and beans !

You can cook it in so many different ways, mushy or tender, stew or sauté, with coconut milk or dry. So inspiring !

Just one drawback: green lentils, and especially french one, are very long to cook, and it’s not very practical when you are a student and that you have to cook and eat in one hour… Yes, you can do your lunch before, but time is hard to find. But I do all I can to be in the kitchen at 11.30a.m, so that I can eat one hour after and be in class just in time.

I’ve already ate lentils and rice, but not mixed together. So I wanted to try this recipe, and since it included cumin, I was in!

 

Mujadara

From The Shiksa in the Kitchen

1/3 cup rinsed lentils

¼ cup rice, soaked in water during 2 hours

¼ onion, diced

2 teaspoon cumin

Olive oil

1 large onion

 

Bring 4 cups of water to a boil. Then, add lentils and let cook during approximately 15 or 20 minutes, until lentils are tender, but still firm. Drain.

Bring again 2 cups of water to a boil with one teaspoon of salt.

In a saucepan, heat olive oil and sauté ¼ onion for 1 minute. Add lentils and cumin. Sauté for 4 minutes. Add the drained rice and stir. When the water is boiling, add to the mixture, cover, reduce heat, and let simmer until everything is cooked and water evaporated, about 15 minutes.

Meanwhile, heat olive oil and add the onion, cut into big chunks. Let caramelized until it gets a rich caramel colour and smell like candy (20 minutes)

Turn off the heat of the lentils and fluff with a fork. Cover, and let stand for ten minutes, and than, fluff again.

Put in a plate, add caramelized onions on the top, some cilantro if you want, and now you can eat.

P1030529

2 thoughts on “Mujadara

Leave a Reply

