Butternut Squash Carbonara

P1030567

Well, when I’ll be back at home, my parents will have to face that their daughter is now vegetarian. It will not be easy for them to cook differently, with products like tofu they don’t know.
First, it has been difficult for them to let me become a vegetarian. But when I explained my reasons, they accepted it quickly.
In exactly two weeks, i’ll be home. So I try to find recipes that could be enjoyed by all the family, included my brother. He does not eat a lot of vegetables, he doesn’t really like it. I’m sure that he will not be ok to taste tofu… From this, I want to cook things I can eat and he can enjoy. He is a big fan of carbonara, really (he asks my mother twice or even three times a week for it).

These carbonara contain squash and spinach that I’m sure he won’t love, but if I don’t include it, I’m sure he won’t notice the difference. Sure, I will try these carbonara at home.

Butternut Squash Carbonara

From Eat Well with Others

1/6 butternut squash
3 nests of tagliatelle (pasta)
100g smoked tofu, cut into thin slices
1/6 onion
Few spinach
1 egg yolk
6tbsp of almond cream
2 tbsp of nutritional yeast

Preheat oven at 420°F. When hot, roast squash until tender (40min)

After, cook pasta al dente.
In a pan, heat 1tbsp olive oil and sauté onion until tender. Add the tofu and sauté 3 minutes.
In a small bowl, mix egg yolk, cream and yeast.
Place spinach in the bottom of a colander. When pasta are cooked, reserve some water then drain over spinach, so the hot water will cook the spinach.
Add pasta and spinach to the pan and toss.
Remove from heat. Use pasta water to temper egg mixture. Pour 3 tbsp, one by one, and stir well each time. Pour this mixture to the pan and toss again until every ingredient is well coated.

Serve

P1030574

One thought on “Butternut Squash Carbonara

Leave a Reply

