Lentils Dhal

Dad, this is for you, cause I know how much you loved it. Easy and fast, my way.

I’m finally back ! During my holidays, you know, I went back to France. I had no time to take pictures of what I did, but yeah, I cooked ! Still vegetarian and most of my dishes were loved by my family!!!!

It’s so cold outside, brrr ! I bought à blender, FINALLY !!! It’s awesome, hell yeah ! My first soup was a basic carrot one, so good ! But I will start to make different ones and post them here. During chilly days, nothing’s better than homemade and a very warm bowl of soup, yum. Stay tuned 😉

P1040024

Red lentils Dhal ”Cassie’s way”

1/3 cup red lentils
¼ onion, chopped
1 cm ginger, cut very thin
1/3 vegetable broth, or coconut milk, or even better, homemade tomato sauce
2/3 broth (or 1,5/3 if you prefer when it’s ”al dente”)
1 tbsp coconut oil

Heat coconut oil in a saucepan. Add onion and ginger. Sauté until fragrant and onion begins turning brown.
Add lentils and mix well until everything is covered with oil.
Add broth (or coconut, or tomato sauce (my favorite!). Stir constantly until all liquid is absorbed.
Add half of the remaining broth. Stir constantly. Repeat until no more broth.
Season to taste and enjoy. Today, I served it with cauliflower rice, it was my first time, and not my last, too good!!!

My dear friend brought me back from Morocco spices. I’m so happy!!! I will try to put some in this dhal, to make it ever more spicy, oh yeees! 😉

P1040025

2 thoughts on “Lentils Dhal

Leave a Reply

